(Frequently Asked Questions)
I don’t live in Colorado, can I purchase marijuana in Colorado?
Yes! You just need a valid form of identification; State-issued Driver’s License or ID card.
How old do I have to be to buy marijuana?
Buying marijuana is a lot like buying alcohol. You must be 21 years of age or older with a valid form of identification.
I am trying edibles for the first time, how much should I take?
The state recommended dose is 10mg. This can be tricky, and caution is advised. Everyone has a different metabolism rate, which means that one person may not feel any effect from 10mg, while another can be ‘stoned’. We suggest starting with 5mg and waiting at least 1.5 hrs before ingesting more to reach the desired effect. Edibles can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 2 hours to take effect, and usually last longer than inhaled cannabis.
How much marijuana can I buy and possess?
Anyone 21 and older can purchase and possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of retail marijuana at a time. Note that you can buy a mix of flower (or bud), edibles and concentrates, but the laws have changed as of October 1, 2016. Because the MED argues that some products (like concentrates) have a higher level of THC than flower, you won’t be able to purchase the same amount in both forms. The ‘Marijuana Equivalency’ rules impact recreational sales only, but state that 1oz of flower = 8g of concentrate (shatter, wax, etc.) while 1oz of flower = 800mg of edibles.
If you have a medical marijuana card (red card) you can purchase up to 2 ounces.
It’s important to remember that these regulations apply to sales, not possession. As per the Colorado Constitution, you are allowed to legally possess 1oz (or 28g) of THC.
Can I take my marijuana home to another state?
No. Marijuana remains illegal in most states and the laws of those states govern what you may possess and consume.
Where can I consume marijuana?
Cannabis may only be consumed on private property with the property owner’s permission. It is illegal to consume cannabis in any public space. It is also illegal to possess or consume cannabis on Federal lands like national parks and forests. Cannabis may not be consumed openly or publicly. It is illegal to consume marijuana at any dispensary.
What’s the difference between medical and recreational marijuana?
Only the amount of tax imposed by the state. Medical Edibles, on the other hand, can be higher in THC dosage.
Are the rules the same all over the state?
Not exactly. It is legal for adults over 21 to possess up to an ounce of marijuana in Colorado. Each municipality makes its own rules regarding sales and consumption.
Are out-of-state medical marijuana cards honored in Colorado?
Unfortunately, Colorado does not have reciprocity for out-of-state medical marijuana cards.
Can I consume my cannabis at a dispensary?
Unfortunately, you can not consume cannabis in or around a licensed dispensary.
If I make a purchase at your store, am I now on a list of marijuana customers that will be given to the government?
No. We operate similar to a liquor store- show ID then make a purchase. We DO NOT scan your ID and store your information.
Have a question that is not posted here?
It is important to understand exactly which cannabis products and strains are right for you and we want to help you in finding those right products.
Our experienced team at the Telluride Green Room have been trained and are extremely knowledgeable when it comes to marijuana and the products on the market.
So, no matter the question or whether you are a newcomer to cannabis, our team is standing by to assist you with your needs.
Telluride Green Room
Come on In!
11AM - 7 PM
11AM - 7 PM
250 South Fir Street, Telluride, CO 81301